ITIL 4 Foundation: Service Management Practice

In ITIL, a management practice is a set of organizational resources designed for performing work or accomplishing an objective. The ITIL SVS (Service Value System) includes 14 general management practices, 17 service management practices, and 3 technical management practices, all of which are subject to the four dimensions of service management. The origins of the practices are as follows:

  • General management practices have been adopted and adapted for service management from general business management domains.
  • Service management practices have been developed in service management and ITSM industries:
    Availability management
    Business analysis
    Capacity and performance management
    Change control
    Incident management
    IT asset management
    Monitoring and event management
    Problem management
    Release management
    Service catalogue management
    Service configuration management
    Service continuity management
    Service design
    Service desk
    Service level management
    Service request management
    Service validation and testing
  • Technical management practices have been adapted from technology management domains for service management purposes by expanding or shifting their focus from technology solutions to IT services.
itil 4, foundation, service management, practice itil 4, foundation, service management, practice

Interesting Management