ITIL 4 Foundation: rethinking of ITSM management

Forget about the lifecycle, if the foundation of the ITIL V3 was the 5 lifecycles:

  • Service Strategy SS
  • Service Design SD
  • Service Transition ST
  • Service Operation SO
  • Continual Service Improvement CSI

In ITIL 4, we have to think about dimensions, the 4 dimensions:

  • Organizations and People
  • Information and Technology
  • Partners and Suppliers
  • Value Streams and Processes

Those dimensions are linked strongly with the ITIL SVS (Service Value System) which is composed of 5 core components:

  • Guiding Principles
  • Governance
  • Service Value Chain
  • Practices
  • Continual Improvement

Which in return have a strong relationship with the 3 main practices (general management practice, service management practice and technical management practice). If in ITIL V3 we said incident management process, now in ITIL 4 we will say incident management practice. There are in total 34 practices (14 general management practices, 17 service management practices and 3 technical management practices).

The 14 general management practices are (more details here):

  • Architecture management
  • Continual improvement
  • Information security management
  • Knowledge management
  • Measurement and reporting
  • Organizational change management
  • Portfolio management
  • Project management
  • Relationship management
  • Risk management
  • Service financial management
  • Strategy management
  • Supplier management
  • Workforce and talent management

17 service management practices are (more details here):

  • Availability management
  • Business analysis
  • Capacity and performance management
  • Change control
  • Incident management
  • IT asset management
  • Monitoring and event management
  • Problem management
  • Release management
  • Service catalogue management
  • Service configuration management
  • Service continuity management
  • Service design
  • Service desk
  • Service level management
  • Service request management
  • Service validation and testing

3 technical management practices are (more details here):

  • Deployment management
  • Infrastructure and platform management
  • Software development and management

Here a quick resume of the ITIL 4:

itil 4

Interesting Management