ITIL 4, the new ITIL for 2019

This version of ITIL is replacing the old version, the ITIL V3 and it is called simply ITIL 4. Only 2 things are kept, the basic, the Foundation and the ultimate, the Master and everything else, disappear that include:

  • ITIL Practitioner
  • ITIL Intermediate Capability (corresponding to ITIL 4 Managing Professional): RCV, SOA, OSA and PPO
  • ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle (corresponding to ITIL 4 Strategic Leader): SS, SD, ST, SO and CSI
  • ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle (corresponding to ITIL 4 Managing Professional)
  • ITIL Expert (corresponding to ITIL 4 Managing Professional)
itil v3

The new scheme:

  • ITIL Foundation (February 2019)
  • ITIL Managing Professional (H2 2019): CDS, DSV, HVIT and DPI
  • ITIL Strategic Leader (H2 2019): DPI and DITS
  • ITIL Master (no date)
itil 4

If you are new in the ITIL world, do the new version ITIL 4. Contrary for the previous version from V2 to V3, for this new version, there will no have any foundation transition module so people has to pass the ITIL 4 Foundation. How it works if you have already some V3 certifications ?

  • If you have only the Foundation V3, you have to pass the Foundation V4.
  • If you have some V3 upper certifications no more than 4 credits beyond Foundation, you can either pass the Foundation V4 and a further module in a preferred area of interest, becoming either an ITIL Specialist, Strategist or Leader. Or keep collecting 17 credits from V3 to become eligible to take the ITIL Managing Professional Transition module (no need to pass the ITIL V3 Managing Across the Lifecycle). The bad news is that this module will remain valid only 1 year after its launch.
  • If you have some V3 upper certifications more than 6 credits beyond Foundation, it is recommended to continue collecting V3 credits until 17 for an easy transition to ITIL 4 and gain the ITIL Managing Professional designation by taking the ITIL Managing Professional Transition module.
  • If you have the V3 expert certification, you have to take the ITIL Managing Professional Transition module to achieve the ITIL Managing Professional designation. Once done, you can try to be certified the ITIL Strategic Leader by completing the ITIL Leader Digital & Strategy module.

For the others who want to do all certifications in ITIL 4, to be able to pass the ITIL Managing Professional (ITILMP), you have to get first the 17 points:

  • ITIL 4 Foundation
  • ITIL Specialist Create, Deliver and Support
  • ITIL Specialist Drive Stakeholder Value
  • ITIL Specialist High Velocity IT
  • ITIL Strategist Direct, Plan and Improve

Once you have the ITILMP certification and if you want to go until the ITIL Master, you have to be certified on:

  • ITIL Leader Digital and IT Strategy
  • ITIL Strategic Leader (ITILSL)

If you prefer to start with the ITILSL certification, you will start to collect your 17 points by:

  • ITIL 4 Foundation
  • ITIL Strategist Direct, Plan and Improve
  • ITIL Leader Digital and IT Strategy

Once completed, you will need to take the ITILMP path. Only the foundation doesn’t need a training center so you can study by yourself. The ITIL Strategist Direct, Plan and Improve is an universal certification for both so no need to pass it again if you got either the ITILMP or ITILSL certification.

As I said before, you will need to have the 2 certifications ITIL Managing Professional and ITIL Strategic Leader to go on for the ITIL Master.

The ITIL 4 Foundation is already available since the 28 February, you can read ITIL 4 Foundation Certification. For the upper levels, it is scheduled later, around the middle of the year. The end date for the ITIL V3 is scheduled before June 2020 meaning stopping maintaining exams, publishing books and accrediting candidates.

Interesting Management