ITIL 4 Foundation: General Management Practice

In ITIL, a management practice is a set of organizational resources designed for performing work or accomplishing an objective. The ITIL SVS (Service Value System) includes 14 general management practices, 17 service management practices, and 3 technical management practices, all of which are subject to the four dimensions of service management. The origins of the practices are as follows:

  • General management practices have been adopted and adapted for service management from general business management domains:
    Architecture management
    Continual improvement
    Information security management
    Knowledge management
    Measurement and reporting
    Organizational change management
    Portfolio management
    Project management
    Relationship management
    Risk management
    Service financial management
    Strategy management
    Supplier management
    Workforce and talent management
  • Service management practices have been developed in service management and ITSM industries.
  • Technical management practices have been adapted from technology management domains for service management purposes by expanding or shifting their focus from technology solutions to IT services.
itil 4, foundation, general management, practice itil 4, foundation, general management, practice

Interesting Management